Saturday, July 11, 2015

Blog Tour Stop: Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom {Review + Dream Cast}

8:01 AM


Title: Don't Ever Change
Author: M. Beth Bloom
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Rating: 4/ 5 stars

Synopsis:

Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that she has realized she can't "write what she knows" because she hasn't yet begun to live. So before heading off to college, Eva is determined to get a life worth writing about.

Soon Eva's life encounters a few unexpected plot twists. She becomes a counselor at a nearby summer camp—a job she is completely unqualified for. She starts growing apart from her best friends before they've even left for school. And most surprising of all, she begins to fall for the last guy she would have ever imagined. But no matter the roadblocks, or writer's blocks, it is all up to Eva to figure out how she wants this chapter in her story to end.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell,Don't Ever Change is a witty, snarky, and thought-provoking coming-of-age young adult novel about a teen who sets out to write better fiction and, ultimately, discovers the truth about herself.




I don't know what it was about this book's synopsis, but something just drew me in. I'll be honest and say that I went into it without expecting anything. nor good nor bad. Which is why I was so pleasantly surprised. 

This book was very character driven. Like really character driven. It's mainly about Eva's, our MC, life and the summer before she begins college. I found Eva to be so relatable funny. It was no secret how much she was struggling with this transition. Which is why it was relatable. She was caught in this fight between her excitement and her fear of change. She was afraid to let go of things. Things, places, and all the people in her life. 

Another big part of this book was the fact that Eva was a writer. After being told by a teacher the things she could do better, Eva really sets her mind to it and hunts for as much experience as she can. That quirk in her personality really made things very unique because she often times found herself imagining how things could have turned out or how certain situations would translate into a story. 

Something that I wasn't expecting about this book, was the summer vibes that it was sending off.
And no, it wasn't solely based on the fact that it took place during summer. You see, in her quest of becoming more experienced, Eva decides to get a job and she settles on being a camp counselor. Many parts were set at camp and they were really fun to read about. Not to mention all the girls that Eva was counseling. They were a very unique bunch, if I do say so myself. They were quite hilarious at times and really added a little something extra to the story.

The romance in this book was the one thing I wasn't too crazy about. On the one hand you have, Elliot, the guy Eva meets at a party whom also happens to be in a band and on the other hand you have Foster, the guy Eva has known since forever whom Eva is in constant writing competition with. I'm not going to spoil anything for you guys but I will say that I felt one of these was just a waste of character. It was just odd. Sometimes I was just questioning like, "Why are you even here?!". It was like the love triangle that never could.

Overall I really liked this book. I loved the main character and how much I could empathize with her. I loved her voice and the writing itself.



                                                                         



      Eva                                  Foster                              Elliot                               Courtney              

     Michelle                          Steph                               Shelby                             Zack



 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Follow the Don't Ever Change by M. Beth Bloom Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.



M. Beth Bloom is a novelist and a screenwriter. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly and Dave Eggers's Best American Nonrequired Reading series. She is also the author of Drain You. M. Beth lives in Los Angeles.


INTERNATIONAL





No comments:

Post a Comment

Back to Top