Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday #1: Top Ten Auto-buy Authors

8:00 AM

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Today's topic is auto-buy authors.

1) Jenny Han


Jenny Han is queen, ok? *whispers* Jenny Han is queen.


2)  Jandy Nelson


Ever since I read The Sky Is Everywhere, I fell in love with Jandy Nelson's writing. I will literally buy anything she writes.

3) Stephen King


Stephen King is just an amazing author. It's as simple as that. And although I have yet to read ALL of his books, I feel compelled to buy every single one. My goal is to read all of his books someday.


4) Anna Banks


I find Anna Banks' books so fun to read. No matter what, you are guaranteed to have a  great time while reading her amazing books. And I will buy them all for sure.

5) Morgan Matson


I still have yet to read Since You've Been Gone, but that does not mean I can't put Morgan Matson in my Auto-buy Authors list! She always writes such cute romances and stories that you'll keep really close to your heart.


6) Beth Revis 


Beth Revis is the author who ignited my love for sci-fi. Her Across the Universe series is to die for. And because of that, I will absolutely purchase every book she ever writes.


7) Sarah Ockler


I don't think I've read every single one of Sarah Ockler's books, but I'm working on it. And the ones I have read, I have loved. Plus, I read Bittersweet when I was starting to get into reading so her books will always have a special place in my heart.


8) Veronica Rossi


Veronica Rossi's series, Under the Never Sky, is by far one of the best dystopian series I have ever encountered. I will read everything she writes. (btw, yes. I'll be dead until Riders comes out.)

9) John Green


Another one of the amazing authors that got me into reading. I will never forget sobbing, alone, in the middle of the night when I read that page in TFIOS. Ah, memories.

10) Gayle Forman


Yet another author who got me into reading! I loved If I Stay and, no, I haven't read every single on of her books, but I do own them all. And I plan on reading very soon.


Read More

Sunday, August 16, 2015

Book Review: The Wicked + The Divine by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie, Matt Wilson, Clayton Cowles

3:56 PM

TitleThe Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act (The Wicked + The Divine #1-5)

Author:  
Release date: November 12th 2014
Pages: 144
Genres: Fantasy. Mythology, Supernatural
Publisher: Image Comics
My rating: 3.5/ 5
Source: Bought

Synopsis:

Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critical tongue-attractors like Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to create a world where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.



Read More

Monday, August 10, 2015

DNF Review: Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins

6:24 PM

Title: Miss Mayhem (Rebel Belle #2)

Author: Rachel Hawkins
Release date: April 7th 2015
Pages: 288
Genres: fantasy, paranormal, contemporary
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
My rating: DNF
Source: bought

Synopsis:


Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and her best friend, Bee, has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can focus on the important things in life: school, canoodling with David (her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie), and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.

Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.



Read More

Saturday, August 8, 2015

ARC Review: A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

8:53 AM

Title: A Million Times Goodnight

Author: Kristina McBride
Release date: July 28th 2015
Pages: 320
Genres: YA, Romance, Sci-fi
Publisher: Egmont USA
My rating: 4/ 5 stars
Source: Netgalley 

Synopsis:

One Night. Two Paths. Infinite Danger.

On the night of the big Spring Break party, Hadley “borrows” her boyfriend Ben’s car without telling him. As payback, he posts a naked picture of her online for the entire senior class to see.
Now Hadley has a choice: go back to the party and force Ben to delete the picture or raise the stakes and take his beloved car on a road trip as far away from their hometown of Oak Grove, Ohio as she can get.

Chapters alternate to reveal each possible future as Hadley, her ex-boyfriend, Josh, and her best friends embark on a night of reckless adventure where old feelings are rekindled, friendships are tested, and secrets are uncovered that are so much worse than a scandalous photo.
Like a teen Sliding DoorsA Million Times Goodnight is a fast-paced contemporary thriller perfect for fans of Just Like Fateand Pivot Point.



Read More

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Book Review: Reunion at Walnut Cherryville by Lauren Salem

6:00 AM

Title: Reunion at Walnut Cherryville

Author: Lauren Salem
Release date: March 20th 2013
Pages: 414
Genres: YA, Dystopian
Publisher: Self Published
My rating: 3.5/ 5
Source: Review copy provided by author

Synopsis:
Johnny Cockit accidentaly murdered a man when he was ten years old, which is why he was sent to Sonoran Correctional High School, a gender-segregated boarding school located in Phoenix, Arizona. Two months before graduation, Johnny and his friends are drugged and abducted by Walnut Cherryville secret watchers during an afternoon counseling session. Making decisions about the future has never felt important until the students are forced to work in a remote produce factory owned by the vengeful Quinton family. Walnut Cherryville is no ordinary factory; it’s the Quintons’ futuristic desert village governed by the principle that people live better-quality lives when they don’t make their own decisions. To ease the burden of life’s basic yet complicated choices, the government limits misdirection by choosing every citizen’s career path and lifestyle. Johnny and his friends plot an escape but must avoid being recaptured because abandonment of the village is a crime punishable by death. In a scandalous turn of events narrated by Johnny and his delinquent friends Vincent, Laura, and Collins, they discover that the reason they were captured roots back to an ancient family feud between the Cockit and Quinton families.


Read More
Back to Top