Sunday, January 11, 2015

Book Review: 'The Sky Is Everywhere" by Jandy Nelson

9:57 AM


Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.   (taken from goodreads)


Review:

Where do I start with this one? It was such a wonderful book. Words can't even explain it. 

As soon as I began reading. I immediately knew that I would really like the main character, Lennie. She was a very congenial character. The kind that you kind of wish you could meet in real life. And the fact that she was a bookworm was the ultimate cherry on top. The author the a very lovely job at creating such deep and believable characters. Not only with Lennie, but with every single one, really. Not to mention the how swoon-worthy the love interests were. 

One thing that struck me as unique was the plot. Due to the fact that in this book the sibling of the main character DIDN'T commit suicide and instead died of natural causes. It was quite nice for a change, although still very sad. I also wanted to mention the love triangle in this book. Now, before you run away at the mention of a love triangle, hear me out. This author deserves serious props because she managed to create a love triangle that was actually nice to read about. It never came off as annoying nor tacky. Which is something that I really appreciated. 

As for the writing, it was outstanding. It was easy to read without being average. Especially the little poems that Lennie wrote on random objects. I loved how there were actually pictures of the objects with the poems on them! It was such a distinctive thing to see. It brought that little bit of extra awesomeness to the book. 

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. And about the characters and seeing their relationships unravel and how troubled they were...It was a  breathtaking read. I think that's the best way to describe it. It's truly a touching and moving book. And I feel like everyone cant take something from it. 

If you haven't read this book or have been thinking about reading it, take this as a sign and go pick up this book. 

Rating:

5/ 5









2 comments:

  1. I totally agree with you! The Sky is Everywhere is amazing. I loved all the little poems as well and it was spectacularly written. Great review!

    Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! And I know! I really wish there were more books like this one...

      Delete

Back to Top